Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, various communication platforms are being used by people worldwide, while its dangers of publicizing an individual’s details are concerned. In my point of view on this issue, I strongly believe that although some people are worried about social media’s misuse, it still has more benefits than negative effects. To begin with, we are able to use all these sites and applications for connecting with others in order to keep in touch with our family and friends, especially when they are not living with each other in the same residence. For example, students who study abroad can spend time calling their loved ones through the video conference feature. Seeing their familiar people and environment at home via smartphone, at least it could threaten their mental health problems occurred by being far away from their home country. However, a number of parents have raised the issue on the risk of the Internet claiming that to let children participate in an online community possibly leads to crimes. If young adults who have no basic knowledge on digital literacy and cyber security have a chance to chat with strangers, they tend to trust their new friends easier and do whatever they are told to, such as taking pictures or clips of themselves or even making an appointment to see each other in person, which can cause numerous unexpected events that no one wants. In conclusion, even though the cons of having an online society are discussed, I think that all-aged users can take the most advantage of this virtual world if they have critical thinking skills as well as safety and privacy concerns while using the Internet.