A tax haven is a place with extremely low tax rates. The rationale is that rich people and businesses can choose where to pay tax, so they are attracted to places with the lowest tax rates. As a result, the tax havens receive tax income that would otherwise go to other countries. Tax havens are good for both taxpayers and for the people of the tax havens. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some countries offer extremely low tax rates and these places are regarded as tax havens. Some reason that wealthy individuals and businesses have the option of where to pay tax, with this, they are attracted to these places. Consequently, tax havens receive tax income that should otherwise go to other countries. It is often argued that it is beneficial for both taxpayers and the citizens of the tax havens. Personally, I disagree that tax havens are good for taxpayers and the tax havens ' citizens. Tax havens can have advantages for corporations and extremely wealthy people, however, this can have a potential for misuse in illegal tax avoidance. They can use tax havens as a legal means of concealing money earned overseas while avoiding higher taxes in one's own country. Tax havens have the ability to do this by being uncooperative with the foreign tax authorities. For example, companies can do business in a tax haven and get away with paying taxes in their own country thus, increasing their earnings overseas. However, there is an increasing international political pressure for tax havens to cooperate with the foreign tax authorities. Additionally, countries with a higher tax rate can result in a loss of tax revenues thus contributing to the increasing incidence of the financial crisis. This can damage livelihood in other countries,especially the poorer countries. In conclusion, tax havens can be beneficial tax saving options for wealthy people and large corporations however, they can be damaging to other countries and its citizen as it opens option for committing illegal tax avoidance. Thus, tax havens are not beneficial to taxpayers and the people of a country.