Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, some people are really addicted to sugar but are not aware of the consequences. Although, sugar is an important source of energy for the body and has a lot of positive factors taking it in excessive amounts can lead to various diseases. I totally agree that sugary items should be made costly so that people don't consume them often. This essay will discuss the negative factors and a conclusion thereafter. Firstly, sometimes sugar acts as an important source and provides energy to our body. Furthermore, sugar adds a little flavour to the items which cannot be eaten easily and helps to maintain a good decorum of the mouth. But, taking sugar in excessive amounts can lead to various health problems such as diabetes, heart problems, and obesity. For example, an article was published in the Sunday Times in the USA, claiming that more than 30% of the people who took sugar in excess are suffering from diabetes as the main problem and various others as a secondary. As a result, people tend to live an unhealthy lifestyle and that may lead to laziness. However, I agree with the statement that products containing sugar should be made costly in order to keep the generation healthy and fit. In addition, when seeing the high prices of sugary products, people will be inclined towards buying non-sugary items such as juices, healthy snacks, and similar things. Thus, keeping themselves away from all the diseases which they might get affected by eating sugary products. For instance, seeing people suffering from obesity, a lot of people in society decided to avoid sugary products as much as possible. To summarize, taking sugary products sometimes is no harm, but having sugar in excess can lead to various health issues as mentioned above. To solve this problem, the price of sugary products should be increased in order to save the mass population from taking it.