Some people think that real life skills like cooking, housekeeping and gardening should be included in the curriculum as compulsory subjects? Do you agree or disagree? Explain your opinion, using specific reasons and details.

It is often believed that real-life skills like cooking, housekeeping and gardening should be added as a course in our formal educational system in recent days while others think otherwise. I feel learning these abilities by all students is essential as it will enhance their efficiencies. The basis of my view is both personal and professional. From the professional aspect, acquiring those skills can be beneficial to an individual in the area of job employment and also provide an avenue for the person to be self-employed. For example, with the recent rate of unemployment in Nigeria which has climbed to 25% according to studies done in 2020, most graduates have moved from corporate jobs to involving themselves in providing services which are classified as real-life expertise. On the other hand, from the personal point of view, due to the recent family system being operated where both parents are occupied with office duties, most teenagers and youths are left with no knowledge of real-life expertise but are made to totally depend on fast foods and snack which also has increased the risk of coronary heart disease. Looking at medical statistics, it is however recorded that the increase in ischaemic heart disease is primarily due to the sedentary lifestyle practised by our youths of this generation. In conclusion, I strongly agree that real-life knowledge should be added as a compulsory subject of the curriculum as it is highly advantageous to the student in the long run and it also improves their lifestyles as well as provides them with an alternative source of income.