Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects.Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like science and Techology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Developing school curriculums can pose many challenges one of them being how much importance or weight within the whole educational program is given to each subject. This essay will examine the value of History within the curriculum compared with science and technology. On one hand, I think that learning about history is associated with many positive aspects. Firstly, studying the events that occurred in the past may allow us to understand better different factors of nowadays society. For example, it is believed that strict regimes and violence suffered by the population during the second world war have left a footprint on the character of the inhabitants of those regions through generations. Secondly, through history we may be able to learn from old mistakes that may prevent them in future. For instance, the second world war led to the creation of NATO which is an international and independent organisation aimed at looking after the well-being of individuals in a situation of conflict. On the other hand, science and technology are two key fields when it comes to the development of society and, I would argue, humankind overall as well. Science has demonstrated to improve the health of individuals and, in turn, their lifespan. Additionally, through research increasing knowledge about the impact of climate change has allowed to identify and intervene in a problem that poses a serious risk to the future of our planet. Furthermore, the rapid development in technology is making a great contribution to our society on daily basis. For example, the availability of video calls is helping sick people to get an expert opinion from a doctor regardless of their location, or people being able to work from home and, in turn, achieve a better life-working balance. In conclusion, in my opinion, these three subjects (history, science and technology) have a very meaningful role within the school curriculum. History is a valuable resource of knowledge that should not be dismissed and that, if studied wisely, can provide crucial answers to many current issues. Likewise, science and technology are essential for the progress of society and, therefore, learning of these subjects should be encouraged at schools.