More and more people are travelling internationally for their holidays but it is expensive and bad for the environment. Do the advantages of international travel for the individual outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people prefer to go on holiday abroad. While travelling overseas can sometimes cost a fortune and even adversely affect the environment, I believe that its benefits far outweigh its drawbacks. There are indeed a few disadvantages with regard to travelling internationally. Firstly, the expenditure on international trips might be an extra economic burden for most people. This is mainly because travelling abroad is usually quite expensive, including the cost of flight tickets and hotel rooms. Moreover, travelling in foreign countries can also have some adverse effects on the local environment. For example, some places are vulnerable to animals and plants, and the carbon footprint and rubbish that visitors leave behind would be harmful to the habitats where creatures live. However, it is hard to not notice the obvious benefits that travelling abroad has. Regarding individuals, those who enjoy their holidays in different countries find it not only a way to relax and release pressure from work but also good for education. For instance, children can obtain knowledge and broaden their horizons by travelling to countries with different cultures. Furthermore, from the perspective of society, foreign tourists can help boost the local economy and prosperity as they stimulate the development of tourism and service industries. Taking hotels as an example, it is not surprising that the vast majority of orders come from visitors, resulting in considerable profits. Overall, although the defects of international travel include higher costs for individuals and negative impacts on the local environment, I would argue that there are more benefits that it can bring to people and society, such as educating children and enhancing the improvement of the economy.