More and more people are eating healthy food and exercise regularly. What are the reasons for that? What can we do to make other people do the same?

Over the past five,decades a shift in eating patterns and excercising has been observed leading to improvement in the health of the general population. This essay will examine the reasons behind this progress and what people could do in order to achieve a better health. On one hand, increasing evidence has shown that poor diets and obesity are directly associated with worse health outcomes. For example, diets rich in simple carbohydrates like white bread or sweets, and saturated fats like red meat, have been linked with cardiovascular disease and diabetes. Conversely, many studies have demonstrated a wide range of benefits related to a healthy diet including lower incidence of heart disease and stroke. Additionally, different research studies have shown the benefits of exercise not only for our body but also for our brain. In particular, people that are fitter are less frequently affected by mental health disorders or dementia. On the other hand, whilst the number of persons following a healthier lifestyle is increasing, there are still many people that find it difficult to compromise with these habits. This problem could be tackled through two different strategies. Firstly, education is key when it comes to raising awareness about health and, therefore, learning about the benefits of a healthy diet and physical activity should start at the schools. Secondly, it is understandable that older generations often find it difficult to change their lifelong eating and exercise habits, and for this, the reason I think that it is the responsability of the medical community to educate their patients and guide them in this process. In conclusion, I believe that the increasing awarenes about the remarkable benefits secondary to healthy habits as well as the detrimental consequences associated with an unhealthy lifestyle have played a major role in the acceptance of these principles among the general population. Notwithstanding, much more could be done for those who struggle to incoorporate those patterns into their routine and education from early ages might make a meaningful difference.