Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part-time job in their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantages to children of doing so?

Many parents inspire their children to work during their leisure time. Although an after-school job seems like an excellent approach to using free time, this trend bears some negative impacts. In this essay, I will discuss the numerous benefits and its perceived drawbacks in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, the advantages of kids partaking in side hustles while schooling has benefits like earning extra cash which would go a long way in solving little needs the child may have. Also, another merit to doing a part- time job as a kid is the knowledge they will acquire. Inter-personal skills and communication skills are acquired mainly through daily interaction and engagements. For instance, a child working part- time with an eatery will interact with at least 10persons in a day. Needless to say, these merits stand out in good stead, as far as augmenting the chances of excellence and prosperity is concerned. Conversely, the demerits of temporary jobs as a kid include the lack of time and focus on their study. As a result of tedious activities with school and work, the child will always come back very tired thereby having little energy to read and practice what was taught. Also, exposing a kid to earning money at a young could make the child not be interested in furthering their education. For example, the majority of teenagers in the US halt their education at the college stage due to the ability to start earning wages afterwards. These issues however are not applicable to every child. To summarize, there are merits and demerits involved in encouraging a child to work part- time in their free time. There are a plethora of people who opine that it is the duty of the parent to access and make decisions that will be beneficiary to their child.