In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

As technology develops, vehicles will increasingly become automated. Although there are both merits and demerits of this trend, I believe that driverless vehicles are good for people and society. There are two main reasons why some argue that automatic vehicles have drawbacks. One major concern is that autonomous driving can cause moral problems. For example, when a driverless car hits a pedestrian or trees on the street, it is difficult to determine whom should take responsibility between a car manufacturer or a person in a car. In addition, automated vehicles could cause job losses in specific sector. In these days, it is obvious that plenty of people are driving for living by trucking, delivering foods, or taxi driving. As driverless vehicles will take over their jobs, those who rely on driving for living would lose their jobs and need to find new ones. Nevertheless, self-driving cars will bring significant positive changes on society. First of all, the number of car crushes will be reduced by self-driving vehicles. It is proved by myriads of studies that most car accidents are caused by human errors such as drunk and distracted driving. Since machines are not exposed to these risks, they can significantly reduce accidents caused by human carelessness. Another positive effect towards driverless vehicles is that it provides accessible transportation for elderly and disabled. The result of this is that those who are facing difficulties taking current transportation is going to gain independence to travel or commute. To conclude, although using driverless vehicles could cause moral problems or job losses, it is evident that it gives everyone the opportunity to travel safely. In this regard, I hope autonomous cars will be released and popularized in the future.