Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The gradual increase in producing rubbish and releasing it to either the atmosphere or to dumping stations has become a consistent talking point in recent years. Releasing rubbish in the shape of production waste or simply household waste has risen in leaps and bounds. There are several underlying reasons for this gradual increase. The most prominent being the ever-increasing world population. The global population has risen to 8 billion since the turn of the century resulting in an increase in per capita consumption. This will eventually result in increase in producing rubbish. Thus, it is inevitable that the waste produced by each household will rise considerably in the years to come. The second factor is to cater for the ever-increasing per capita demand, the manufacturers need to adhere to increased production. Thus, this would ultimately result in increase in manufacturing and industrial rubbish. In addition, these two factors mentioned above will lead to increased demand for dumping stations and increased air pollution due to the burning of rubbish. The Governments have a major role to play in terms of formulating and implementing policies for effective and efficient rubbish management. It is the Government that can act as a gatekeeper or if not, the society at large will face unnecessary connotations due to inefficient waste management. The most effective action would be to introduce an environmental tax thus all the stakeholders who are involved in producing debris can be held accountable and eventually this will lead to maintaining proper and effective waste management systems. The tax money can be invested into the research and development of sustainable debris management techniques. The other course of action would be to encourage recycling. Governments can build proper recycling facilities and introduce incentives for companies and households who use recycled materials for their day-to-day activities. This could be tax breaks for both manufacturing and households. The problem of increasing rubbish production needs to address quickly and it’s the Government that needs to play a bigger role. Otherwise this could lead to many socio-economic consequences in the future.