Some people think that the environment may be destroyed because of tourism. Others, however, believe that it is a way to preserve nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the debate on whether tourism is beneficial for the environment has been heated. While some people claim that tourism is the major reason for environmental degradation, others argue that tourism encourages people to pay more attention to the environment. As far as I am concerned, the disadvantages bring by travelling may overweight its advantages. To begin with, waste produced by tourism may be detrimental to the environment. Since people from developing countries may not have the awareness of protecting the environment, they may leave rubbish everywhere. For example, a beach can be filled with plastic bags once it becomes a visiting place. Therefore, human activities created by tourism may destroy the ecosystem and make it difficult for the environment to recover. However, tourism may force countries to give priority to the environment. As a pleasant environment is more attractive to visitors, the local government may take action to regulate citizens' behaviours to sharpen their competitive edges. For example, hunting may be prevented in certain areas for bio-diversity. Therefore, citizens may raise their awareness about the environment once the state imposed regulation on them. In conclusion, although new environmental policies may be introduced to the public, it could be challenging when it comes to supervision. Beside, tourism may also result in significant plastic usage, which can pose undisirable environmental issue in the long run.