in some countries,it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age。is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of social problems have arisen focusing on the age. Whether illegalizing turning down job applicants for their age is more advantageous has sparked much debate. I completely agree with the view that it is a positive development. On the one hand, equalizing job opportunities for applicants of different ages can benefit companies by bringing in diversified skillsets. The elder employees, for instance, tend to be more reliable, and can better handle complex situations or emergencies occurred in daily work, making them perfect mentors for other colleagues. Meanwhile, the younger employees are more energetic and self-motivated to embrace new technologies and theories. In addition to that, with the greying population, the workforce is constantly in shortage, and limiting the age of job applicants will aggravate companies’ burden for hiring while narrowing possible ways for aged people to live on their own. On the other hand, some people who believe the opposite may assert that the elder is more conservative and can be rusty in using modern technologies like computers or advanced machines essential for today’s jobs while having lower working efficiencies. However, older people can be more preferable choices for a host of jobs attaching greater importance to related experiences, such as doctors, accountants, and lawyers. The longer time needed for older employees to learn new technologies can be well justified by the additional value they created by exploiting the abundant practical skills and resources accumulated in previous careers. In conclusion, rejecting applicants simply for their age is a form of employment discrimination that should be banned by law, because people of different ages deserve equal opportunities to contribute to society and make their achievements.