It is pointless making children who lack artistic talent learn painting and drawing in Art classes at school. Instead, they should concentrate on other creative or practical subjects for which they may have more aptitude. To what extent to do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it does not make any sense to teach art at school to those children who are not good at it, because concentrating on other subjects is more useful for them. This essay completely disagrees with this statement. I believe painting and drawing can contribute to children ’s mental health and develop other skills in them such as creativity and imagination. First of all, painting is a perfect way to relax. I am sure children need it at school as they work hard and experience constant light or strong emotional stress. In other words, art can make you calm and less nervous which is significantly important for young children. For instance, in 2021 Cambridge University did research on what impact Art classes have on children at school. 89 per cent of children felt far less tired after an art lesson. 66 per cent claimed that they felt happy during an art lesson. Secondly, art can cause the development of other skills. It usually has a good effect on the imagination of both children and adults. It also helps children become more creative, attentive and less demanding of themselves, because art does not have rules, so any work done in Art classes can make children satisfied with their results. For example, I remember my friend, who used to take Art lessons in her childhood. Now she has achieved success at her work, although she is not an artist. However, her boss appreciates her for her ability always to invent something new and interesting for their company and come up with ideas which can considerably raise sales of the enterprise. In conclusion, children should study art at school for it has a lot of positive effects on their sense of well-being and can help develop skills necessary not only for artists.