The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Metropolitan cities face a severe shortage of accommodation  leading to declining health and rising crimes., Apparently the issue can be tackled  only by a government intervention either by putting a limit on on the entry of new people into cities or by expanding the urban region.The public contribution is limited in solving the issue as the root cause of the shortage of land remains unresolved.   Since the basic issue lies in the lack of space for building houses,the community has a limited role in executing a long-term solution.Temporarily,they may resolve shortage by sharing homes or residing in the countryside and travelling daily for jobs.The former solution can result in poor  health due to overcrowding and lack of adequate basic facilities while the latter would cause mental stress to those commuting long distances daily.Both these would affect the productivity of these people in their jobs. The government can make a marked change in this situation by restricting the entry for new residents as that can give more time to solve the current housing issues. Then the administration should ensure that the population is proportionate to the land available and take measures to sustainably build adequate housing apartments.An alternative solution wud be by subsuming nearby farmland or expanding the outskirts of cities so as to provide the required amount of land for building suburbs.   In conclusion,I believe that the housing shortage in metropolia can be effectively solved by the government either by having a practical ratio of citizens with land or by expanding the land to build new residences.City folks have a limited role as they can only adapt to the available accommodation though it is with great difficulty.