Some people prefer to rent accommodation while others buy their own home. Does renting a house or apartment have more advantages than buying one? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Different people have different perspectives on whether to rent or own a place to live. In my opinion, renting accommodation can never be considered ideal compared to the ownership of houses. I will discuss and analyse my point of view in detail in this essay. Although rented apartments or houses offer some benefits to tenants, the drawbacks are countless. People just need to spend a fixed small amount of their budget on rent and they do not have to worry about the repair and maintenance of their rented homes as this is the headache of landlords. On the contrary, renters are obliged to follow the rules and regulations so they cannot make any alterations to the rented accommodations according to their will. For instance, I wanted to hang paintings and mirrors in my home but our landowner did not allow me to do this. He declined my request on the account that nailing will damage the walls of his property. On the other hand, buying a house is the perfect idea because of its numerous benefits. The most significant advantage of owning a place is investing money in the right thing. This is the best investment as it saves people millions of dollars that they would have spent on renting their houses. A recent survey in New York revealed that an average person can save two million dollars easily in his lifetime if he avoids renting by buying a house. In conclusion, the ownership of houses is a great investment in life; whereas, renting causes many hurdles to enjoying the freedom of changes to living places. The merits of renting, therefore, are way less than the benefits of owning accommodations.