In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed by many people in various countries that are huge poportion portion of money should be spend for constructing new railway lines for interconnecting cities through means of fast trains. However, in other opinion same amount should be spend on public transportation for improvising it. I strongly opine that public transports should be upgraded as it is the most common way of transportation among people. To begin with, there are various means of public transportation like buses, taxi, autorickshaw. All these means of transportation are mainly used by economically weaker section. This transportation are budget friendly to them. The infrastructure of buses running from past many years has degraded a lot. Money should be spend on providing public with modernized sitting arrangements in buses along with air condition facilities. Consequently, government should also increase the number of buses connecting various places of the city. Talking about the railway system which connects intercites are one of the fast means of transportation. However, with this advantage their comes a drawback that they are costlier than public transport and hence not affordable by economically backward classes. On the other hand providing public with more number of trains despite of lesser users should not be beneficial to spend money on. To sum up, keeping in the mind the requirements and needs of the public emphasis should be done on development of public transportation rather than building new railway tracks for faster running trains.