In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed by people in various countries, that a huge proportion of money should be spent on constructing new railway lines, interconnecting cities through means of fast trains. However, another opinion is that, the same amount should be spent on public transportation. I strongly believe that public transportation should be upgraded as it is the most common way of transportation among people. To begin with, there are various means of public transportation like buses, taxis and autorickshaws. All these means of transportation are mainly used by economically weaker sections, as they are budget-friendly to them. The frequency of buses operating over the past many years has gown down. Money should be spent on providing the public with modernized sitting arrangements in buses having air conditioning. Additionally, the government should also increase the number of buses connecting various places in the city. Talking about the railway system, which connects cities, is one of the fastest means of transportation. However, with this advantage, there comes a drawback that they are costlier than public transportation and hence not affordable to economically backward classes. Also, setting up more number of trains despite fewer users is not advisable to spend money on. To sum up, keeping in mind the requirements and needs of the public, emphasis should be done on the development of public transportation rather than building new railway tracks for faster running trains.