Today more and more tourist are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places.

Nowadays, there are increasing number of people who are willing to travel to the places where conditions are extreme. In this essay, I would like to point out the pros and cons for the travellers who are willing to do so. Needless to say, there are several benefits for visiting such places. One could witness the untouched beauty and serene landscapes all by themselves. This is because touristy locations are ideally bustling and full of people wondering around. Secondly, people could have the sense of achievement upon reaching the destination. For example, people who are climbing the infamous Mount Everest are not only for experience but also for their personal achievement. On the other side of the matter, there are several disadvantages regarding to traveling such places. One thing I would like to mention is that some people could find really frustrating when looking for immediate medical attention. Such remote places are pretty isolated and emergency services could be afar if one is in need. Secondly, going such places might cost an arm and a leg such as accommodation and hiring personal guides. To make it worse, many layovers and delays are often expected along the way since direct flight may not be possible. Last but not least, if the travellers are encountered unfortunate events such as theft or injured, insurance companies might not cover the cost and in the end, the travellers might end up paying by themselves. In conclusion, travelling to locations where conditions are extreme could have disadvantages such as limited medical services, high cost of travelling around, delays and insurance coverage even though they might find untouched beauty and have sense of achievement. In my point of view, the cons outweigh the pros clearly and the people who are willing to travel there should really research and plan well before making the trips.