Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

High levels of carbohydrates are the main causes of many health problems, which are often contained in good and drink products, especially manufactured ones. There is an idea suggesting that the prices of sugary products should be increased as a way to deter the public from consuming much sugar. However, from my perspective, I disagree with this statement for many reasons and I have other effective solutions for this issue. First of all, eating habits are not something easy to be changed just because of the high price of the foodstuff. People having a sweet tooth tend to have a great demand for sweet things. They cannot resist the temptation of products containing sugar, as this stuff has been a vital part of their lives. For that reason, even the expense of these productions are made more expensive, some individuals still purchase them to satisfy their needs. Secondly, sugary products include rice, bread and pasta which are the main foodstuff in our diet. Consequently, increasing the cost not only affects our lifestyle, but also puts poor people who can only afford this kind of feed in a difficult position. There are some alternative solutions to this problem. Governments should raise the public's awareness of what they consume every day and how it would impact their health. Some people do not even know the food and drink they consume contain sugar, thus taking them in on a daily basis. Public talks about this phenomenon need to be held in order to help the citizens gain knowledge in this field. Moreover, instead of selling sugary products at a high price, shops and stores can limit the sale of these goods and lower the cost of food which are naturally sweet as they are much healthier than manufactured products. To sum up, I do not approve of the idea that sugary productions should be made more expensive to discourage the community from consuming sugar as there are various effective solutions for this problem.