Some say that music, art and drama are as i mportant as other school subjects, especially at primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

A growing number of people feel that it is vital to have music, drama and art in the curriculum along with other academic subjects, particularly, in primary education. This essay totally agrees with this assertion because these subjects not only give an opportunity to identify the students true abilities but also help to perform better in their academics. To begin with, non-academic subjects provide an opportunity for young children to identify their talents. when young brains are introduced to co-curricular activities such as drama, music, dance and artwork, these bring out the hidden talents of the children. so that, they could be encouraged in a particular field of interest. For example, most of the children who took part in the live singing competitions such as SA RE GA MA and SUPER Singer which are conducted by one of the famous Television in India, claimed that their talents are identified by their teachers at school and they are encouraged to perform better. Another pertinent reason is that studying academics combined with co-curricular subjects help the young brains to perform well in formal exams. Candidates who learn additional skills like playing musical instruments, paintings, etc., tend to perform better in traditional examinations. For instance, a student who plays the violin is most likely to have better performance in mathematics and science compared to the one who doesn’t. In conclusion, it is undeniable that cultural studies play a crucial role in identifying young talents and better performance, when combined with formal education.