More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

It is becoming increasingly common these days for young people from the affluent nations to donate their time aiding less developed countries. In my opinion, the advancement in media and technology has empowered young people to deliver such unpaid service, and it benefits more to the donor than the ostensible communities. The cardinal reasons behind this pervasive trend are the new advancement in the media and transportation technology. To be precise, the media has changed beyond traditional newspapers and magazines to trending websites and social media, young community can now use their smartphones to easily browse local issues of distant poorer countries. Moreover, they can travel quickly and reach these countries in a day or two as air travel has become faster than the past mode of travel such as ships and trains. In addition, travel cost has become affordable as the average income of society has risen. However, this phenomenon is mainly related to the opportunity to increase adolescents' self-esteem. To be explicit, the youngster from the wealthy states often are guilty of their affluent living standards and less accomplishment in their life. To explain it further, to prove themself, they take up this easy opportunity to donate their free service to the poorer nations, and once they return from their journey, they start flaunting their social service campaign in front of their friends, parents, relatives, and on the college entrance essays. In other words, they find instant fame in their circle and gain a better version of themself with renewed self-confidence. To conclude, advancement in the media and travel technology has enabled the adolescents to easily access the local issues of poorer nations as well as easily travel there to offer their free service in helping the affected communities. However, this phenomenon has only benefited these adolescents by spiking their self-confidence and gaining fame than the poorer communities.