Traffic jam is increasing, what are the causes and solution?

Traffic congestion is on the rise as a result of bad roads, poor routes network and a lack of alternative means of transportation which can be reduced by constructing good roads and optional transport mean like rail and ships. Firstly, the non-motorable state of our roads is one of the major causes of drive jams. The driving paths are full of potholes and not tarred hence causing motorists to drive very slowly which leads to slow movement of the vehicles behind. Secondly, poor networking of roads is another cause. In, that the routes are not intercepting, thus, everyone going to a particular destination will have to get there through one route which leads to congestion. Thirdly, there is an inadequate and non-functional alternative to transportation. This includes rail, boat or ship. For instance, in my country, Nigeria and in particular Lagos State, the major medium of migration is by road, therefore roadway jams are a daily occurrence. The solutions to the causes of transit jams include first, the roadways should be fixed so they are motorable with the result being a free flow of migration. Also, there should be alternative roadway networks so that all vehicles do not have to ply on a specific route to get to the same destination. Lastly, the government should invest in developing the other means of movement especially rail as trains have the ability to accommodate a large number of passengers, as a result, will lead to a massive fall in the number of cars and people transported through roads. To conclude, traffic congestion is a societal problem that will only keep increasing if the roads are not motorable, other ways of transportation are not developed and route networks are not constructed.