People who travel to another country to live, work or study for a period of time often suffer badly from homesickness. Why is this? What are the best ways to reduce this problem?

A person who travels abroad for any reason to live there for some time can miss their home. It happens quite often because our hearts belong to our motherland and our family. To improve such a situation people should keep in touch with their relatives via Internet and do their best to avoid upsetting thoughts by going out with new friends or doing anything they are fond of. As a matter of fact, the main reason for missing home is that we love the place where we were born and lived most of our life. We feel happy and calm there. That is why we call it with such a lovely word - " home ". Although it becomes obvious, unfortunately, only when we move to another country and we are far away from everything we are used to. For example, the recent survey among Ukrainians was carried out by Karazin National University. It showed that 76 per cent of those citizens who are currently refugees want to return home for they love their country and home and as soon as it happens, they will appreciate it more than they used to do before the war. The most appropriate way to solve this problem as far as one can is communicating with family and close friends to maintain the links with home as it is not just a place, but also the people who live there with us. Another good method is distraction. In other words, try not to pay so much attention to the fact that you feel sad about being away from home. Going for a walk and communicating with people near you can definitely help. For instance, when I arrived in the UK, I was busy every day, spent a lot of time on sightseeing and doing all the paperwork, of course. It helped me a lot not to feel frustrated and depressed. In conclusion, those who study or work outside their home country usually miss home. It is very common because every individual loves place where they spent most of their life. Perfect methods to feel better in this case are talking to your family through social networks and messengers and spending more time outside.