It is commonly believed nowadays that the main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often held that well received culture, peers and the media have a significant influence on the life of children. While some people argue that these factors are predominant in shaping a child's future, others believe that parents impact their offspring in more critical ways. This dissertation will examine both of these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, the books children read and the music they listen to form their belief system. In other words, children tend to copy the behaviour of their favourite personality or fictional character. Moreover, when little ones work and play in groups, they are influenced by their peers. To expatiate, these factors prompt children to want things regarded by their peers as fashionable. For instance, children demand toys that they see on television because they see other children being happy while using it. Therefore, these factors have a great influence on children. On the other hand, a child's personality is malleable at a very young age, and parents are always present in their life at this stage. Moreover, parents also teach children about setting boundaries and are usually there to monitor and moderate their children's behaviour. For example, children who come from a dysfunctional family often exhibit behavioural problems at school. Evidently, an emotionally secure environment at home is critical for the child's confidence. In my opinion, children's choice of friends, books or music depends on the values instilled in them by their parents. Therefore, parents hold more substantial sway over their offspring than media, pop culture and friends circle. In conclusion, the outside world influences the intellectual and social development of children. However, I believe that it is parents who set the stage for these developments by laying a strong foundation from a very young age.