As the world population increases, genetically modified crops are becoming essential to meet rising demands for food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the past decades, global food shortages had been a problem to many countries all over the world. Some believe that, with the increase number of population, genetically modified crops are becoming important to meet consumers’ demand. I largely agree to the statement, however, there is another system that can also be practiced to solve the issue. Modifying a plant’s gene by transforming its DNA could reduce the chances of the crops to be infected by diseases. For instance, seedling diseases are very common in plants such as corn and wheat and these conditions may cause marked reduction in the yield. When DNA of the plants that are susceptible to diseases are changed, more crops that are resistant to diseases are grown. Eventually, there is higher yield and the production may satisfy consumers’ demand. However, the availability and cost of genetically modified technology can be a concern in certain countries. The technology is handled by multinational companies such as Bayer and may not be accessible to the Third world countries. For example, transportation is needed to export the corps and food to countries such as India and Bangladesh as these countries may not be supplied with such innovations. Besides, the cost to run the system can be high and government may need to invest al large amount of money on it. The government of Iran and Afghanistan, for instance, may not be capable to allocate high amount of money on this technology. Hence, it is clear that this system can be expensive and not easy to be accessed. The vertical farming system is another way of producing certain amount of food that may meet the demand of the population on earth as it can produce large volume of corps and easily accessed. This system can be installed at urban area where it is accessible to consumers. For instance, customer can obtain a large number of fresh vegetables from vertical farming system and it is convenient for consumers to buy the products. The availability of food is very crucial in order to ensure that the global food shortages are solved. In conclusion, genetically modified crops are essential to meet the rising demand of food all over the world, however, there is other method such as vertical farming that may have better advantages in order to satisfy the increase need of food supply. Both the technologies can be applied because of the benefits of high crop production.