Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music is diversifying in this contemporary era. It is believed by a number of individuals that melody is an effective means of uniting the populace from different cultural backgrounds and generations. However, I, completely agree with this point of view because music has the power to influence one’s feelings including bringing about global language. To begin, music has the ability to evoke a wide range of emotions in the listeners such as sadness, anger and happiness regardless of their country of origin. Although the language may be incomprehensible due to the language barrier, their melody is linguistically neutral. This implies that one does not need to understand the language used before they enjoy the song. For instance, a Nigerian may fall in love with a Chinese pop song or may shed tears while listening to a melancholic piece of music written by a Korean Artist. Therefore music has a universal language that transcends all cultural boundaries. Furthermore, music is a common ground for people to understand each other irrespective of age. In recent times, youngsters have access to songs released decades ago and find them interesting like reggae, rap and disco, whereas, the older generation tends to fancy modern music such as hip-hop and TikTok shorts more. For example, in 2019, when a popular artist Olu Jacob celebrated his 90th birthday, it was graced by both the elderly and young while songs from divergent generations were played by the DJ (disco jockey) to entertain the audience. Evidently, age has no constraints on musical enjoyment. In conclusion, music has a great influence on bonding people around the globe. Nonetheless, I, totally agree with this opinion because an individual’s genre, as well as culture, has no restriction on their emotions and perception towards any type of music.