An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

Nowadays, due to the rapid growth in population, more and more goods are being used. This leads to a fact that the health environment has decreased. In this essay, I will explore some of the problems and suggest some solutions associated with negative environmental impacts from improper solid waste dumping and natural resources overexploitation. Firstly, the more goods are consumed, the more waste is thrown into nature. As a matter of fact, solid waste dumps are seriously spoiling the environmental conditions. Many of them come from non-biodegradable substances such as plastic, glass and artificial rubber. In fact, non-biodegradable wastes are not environment friendly, therefore, they pose a serious threat to the environment and surroundings, for instance, infectious diseases, land and water pollution, obstruction of drains and loss of biodiversity. A possible solution to this problem is that the authorities must invest in proper planning and an efficient municipal solid waste management system. As a result, the dwellers will be able to live in better environmental and sanitary conditions. Secondly, the unsustainable consumption and overuse of natural resources, which occurs when producing domestic goods, is also a major threat to the environment. Continued overexploitation can lead to the destruction of resources and an imbalance of biodiversity. For example, in order to produce palm oil, an ingredient in roughly half of the products we buy such as cooking oil and shampoos, fires have to be set to clear land for plantations. This land-use change plays a major role in driving global climate change and threatening crucial species and habitats. To solve this problem, individuals should promote a healthy, eco-friendly, and sustainable consumption pattern like using energy responsibly and buying fewer unnecessary products to reduce their carbon footprints. To sum up, as the world’s population rapidly increases, the environment has to face a variety of problems, such as improper wasting and overexploitation of natural resources. Hence, the government and, also, individuals, must take responsibility to tackle these issues, and they should begin by considering some of the solutions proposed above.