Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Different species of animals have been coexisting from time immemorial in different habitats, however due to their wide extinction from the surface, hence zoological garden's birth. Wildlife park is a place in which animals of different kinds are kept in an enclosure to nurture, protect and prevent their complete extinction. While most individuals are of the thought that wildlife parks are harsh, hence it should be shut down, other proponents are of the view that the usefulness of the park life areas is quite significant in the sense that the wild will be protected. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion. On the one hand, in as much as animals are meant to live and multiply in the form of procreation, they need a natural habitat to function optimally. This is why most individuals are concerned about the closure of the menagerie which they believe are small and not spacious enough to accommodate the animals to move freely. Take for instance, crocodile, which is both aquatic and land reptile, needs enough space to move on land and equally swim in water, however, it is restricted to a limited area. This hampered freedom will subsequently bring about malfunctioning. The small space allocated to each animal in these zoological gardens will be one of the many reasons why the wildlife parks should be proscribed as suggested by some individuals. On the other hand, some proponents accept that park-like areas should be upheld in order for the animals to be preserved from extinction and also overhaul overall causing of harm or even death to dwellers nearby by some of these wild animals. The sole care of these animals will rest on the shoulders of their captors. More so, they will be well fed with high quality and with all the supplement required alongside different varieties. Any of them found to be sick and weak will be attended to promptly. Even though their movement might be somewhat restricted, they will have a safe and enabling environment to live away from multiple predators. For instance, the lives of young antelope will be protected from the lions or hyenas, these ferocious animals who do not spare them from hunting and tearing them for meal. The aspect of safe keeping and proper feeding of these wilds will be adequately overseen by their keepers, hence, the need to allow the zoological gardens to continue. In my own opinion, wildlife parks aids preservation. Stupendous numbers of species are becoming extinct across the globe and many more are increasingly threatened and therefore risk extinction. A lot of terrible things happen to truly wild animals that given the chance will not happen in zoos. Predators are curtailed to a larger extent, animals life expectancy is increased, starvation is minimised, prompt health care is rendered to the weak and sick ones. Furthermore, menagerie also provide an avenue for education and research into life cycle of these animals and its breeding rates. In conclusion, it is pertinent to consider many benefits surrounding wildlife park conservation. Considering numerous ongoing universal threats to the environment, it is difficult for me to view zoos as anything but essential to the long term survival of numerous species. The captured wilds that would have long gone into extinction, like several other species will be preserved. Moreso, research work into different species and love for these animals will grow.