Some people believe that all the companies decisions should be decide by the managers, while others think it is better to include employees in decision. Discuss both side and give your opinion?

In management, the action of letting employees or subordinates make decisions is called empowering. There have been plenty of arguments on the ideal level of empowerment. Some people suggest that all decisions in a company should be made by manager grade or above, while others contend that it is beneficial to involve normal employees to ensure smooth operations. The people who support the former approach claim that, a management approach which mainly consists of instructions from above is most efficient. Higher management possesses information advantage that lower-level employees usually don't have, and management people are made managers because they are more qualified, are equipped with more advanced skills and can analyze the information in a righteous way. Thus, they are the most suitable ones to make decisions. Furthermore, employees may have different excuses and exaggerate the difficulties when they are consulted, such as resentment of undesirable hours, workload, strict timetables and so on. Over-reliance on employees ' feedback can be counter-productive. On the other hand, the critics of this approach say it is no longer working without empowerment. As the economical situation improves compared with decades ago, people now do not accept orders as willingly as their ancestors. They want to have their input on at least some execution steps of their companies' policies, they want to voice out their views, such as remuneration, fringe benefits, and responsibilities, otherwise they would be annoyed and just quit. A high staff turnover is not necessarily a good thing to a company and may probably reduce its competitiveness. In conclusion, although an authorization-based management style worked efficiently in the past, it is no longer practicable in recent years. In my view, letting employees have their say in decision-making process is imperative. Not only are employees not as obedient as before, but they also possess a lot of first -hand information, such as customers' preferences in their daily communication processes, which is essential in decision making.