Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising, and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people tend to share what they bought via social media in past decades. Many companies are willing to spend on advertisements to build up their brand name to become popular and be famous in order to boost companies' sales. I fully agree with most high sales of popular consumer goods could be reflected in the power of advertising. Let me illustrate my opinions in the below paragraphs. To begin with, we might classify food, and water as basic needs of humans. The real needs of society might tend to be basic. Through advertisements, the public might be willing to try unfamiliar or new products after promotion due to companies having created consumers' interest and awareness. In the numbers of research, it is proven that customers might consume new items that might not be identified as needed. Their spending might come from their curiosity about the products and having a discussion topic with friends. For instance, most luxurious products might be identified as unnecessary items. But, it creates a desire for people after numerous promotions through social media. For example, Chanel, Dior etc. We might hear some news that there is a number of consumers who are intended to buy Chanel's products before the price adjustment. In conclusion, I would agree that high sales of popular consumer goods would reflect advertising is a powerful weapon to boost companies ' brands. Therefore, many companies are still willing to put a huge amount of advertising to make their products to be more attractive, which makes their products different from their competitors.