Some people believe that having interviews is the best way to find new employees for a company. Others say that there are better alternative ways to appoint employees. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Hiring the best employee is the most important part of any organisation. While many people believe that a face-to-face interview is the most appropriate way to select a candidate, some suggest that there are various other ways to hire employees. In my opinion, interviews are the best way to find a suitable candidate for the job and I will be discussing both views in this essay. On the one hand, when an interviewer conducts a face-to-face interview with the candidates, they can understand the overall personality and capability of the individuals. The interviewer can ask various questions to judge the candidate's intellectual skills, strengths, weaknesses and body language to understand their overall image. For example, during an interview, if candidates answer all the questions confidently with appropriate body gestures then the interviewer can easily understand their overall capability and personality. Hence, physical interviews help to understand a person in an effective way as their personality traits reflect during an interview round. On the other hand, there are other different ways to select an employee such as online tests, case studies or assignments. Though these methods are suitable to judge the aptitude level of an individual they cannot help to understand a person's strengths and weaknesses. For instance, when hiring engineers or technical experts, their knowledge can be assessed with the aptitude test or assignments but an interviewer cannot be able to understand their strengths and weakness. Thus, such methods are not effective to understand individual capabilities and finding the right fit for the company. To conclude, some people object that the companies should use other ways to find an employee for the organization instead of using the traditional method which is interviews. However, I strongly believe that to select the right person for a job, an interviewer needs to understand their capabilities and personality which is only possible in a physical round of interviews.