As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on a daily basis are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distance.  Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

WITH THE INCREASE IN GLOBALISATION MANY PRODUCTS INCLUDING REGULAR HOUSEHOLD ITEMS ARE BEING PRODUCED ELSEWHERE AND BEING TRANSPORTED TO US. IT REMAINS A TOPIC OF DEBATE WHETHER THE BENEFITS OF THIS OUTWEIGH THE DRAWBACKS. THE TWO SIDES OF THIS ARGUMENT WILL BE ANALYSED AND DISCUSSED IN THIS ESSAY BEFORE DRAWING A REASONED CONCLUSION. ON ONE HAND, AS GLOBAL TRADE INCREASES THE VARIETY OF OPTIONS AVAILABLE TO US IS ALSO INCREASING. WE ARE ABLE TO PROCURE PRODUCTS FROM ANY PART OF THE WORLD. CONSUMERS ARE ABLE TO COMPARE THE PRICES OF PRODUCT OPTIONS THEY HAVE. BUYERS ARE ALSO ABLE TO SHOP FOR GOODS WHICH WERE ONCE AVAILABLE ONLY LOCALLY IN A SPECIFIC COUNTRY OR REGION. FOR EXAMPLE, COCONUT SHELL ARTWORKS COULD ONLY BE PURCHASED FROM KERALA A FEW YEARS BACK BUT TODAY YOU CAN BROWSE THROUGH ONLINE SHOPS WITH THESE PRODUCTS OFFERING TO DELIVER IT WORLDWIDE. ON THE CONTRARY, LONG-DISTANCE TRANSPORTATION COMES AT THE COST OF ENVIRONMENTAL DAMAGE. AIR CARGO IS THE MOST COMMON MODE OF SHIPPING PRODUCTS TO LONG DISTANCES WHICH IS A MORE FUEL-CONSUMING METHOD LEADING TO AN INCREASE IN AIR POLLUTION. ADDITIONALLY, THE LONGER THE DISTANCE A PRODUCT IS IN TRANSIT MORE IS THE PROTECTION REQUIRED TO PREVENT DAMAGES, THEREFORE REQUIRING MORE PLASTIC FOR PACKAGING. FOR INSTANCE, GOODS WE GET SHIPPED COME WITH HEAVY PACKAGING WHEREAS THE PRODUCTS WE BUY FROM OUR LOCAL MARKET HARDLY HAVE ANY PACKAGING OF THEIR OWN. IN,CONCLUSION I WOULD SAY THAT WHILE GLOBAL TRADE HAS INCREASED CONSUMERS' BUYING OPTIONS IT HAS COME AT THE COST OF ADVERSELY AFFECTING OUR ENVIRONMENT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT BUYERS OPT TO BUY DAILY HOUSEHOLD PRODUCTS FROM THEIR LOCAL MARKETS. THUS, HELPING THEIR LOCAL ECONOMY AND SAVING THEIR NATURE AT THE SAME TIME.