Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

It is considered that illegal activities have seen some growth over the years. I can identify two main causes, and two possible countermeasures we could take. The primary cause of the rise in criminal acts is unemployment. In order words, when young people remain jobless for many years they might be unable to afford basic necessities of life, pay bills and meet family responsibilities. This could result in frustration and desperation. For example, when an individual graduate from school having spent several years in college depending on their parents' allowance or student loans and finally finished school without a job, he can be driven to take to stealing to survive. Hence, not being employed can cause more individuals to be forced to become offenders. A secondary cause is the pressure from peers. That is the youth who lack the strong will to resist lawbreaking acts he sees from his friends often engage in such activities in order to measure up. For example, an adolescent who is often among his peers who are involved in cyber-crime might be coerced by his friends to engage in it Thus, resulting in an exponential number of lawbreakers. Turning to the possible remedies, the government should offer training programmes to alleviate poverty. In other words, training provides citizens with the knowledge to develop and strengthen the necessary skills to gain a job. For instance, a skill acquisitions programme can be organized by the government to train the populace in certain skills such as tailoring, barbing, and catering. Therefore, this could make them self-employed and reduce the rate of villains. A further solution may be educating the youth on the consequences of breaking the law. That is, parents and schools should inform teenagers to shun crimes and antisocial behaviours as it can result in social unrest or the individual being sentenced to jail. As a result, this can create fear in the mind of young people and serves as a reminder to beware of crime. In conclusion, the factors behind societal vices are lack of job and unnecessary forces mounted by friends. Potential remedies may involve governmental involvement in empowering the youth and parental guidance.