Since the 18th century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace.with today's technology this process is happening at a greater rate.Technology is increasinly responsible for unemployment.

Technology advancement has changed so much of the job industry. This is even more true today with the appearance of the internet that some traditional jobs such as typists and data entry clerks have no longer existed. However, is it true that technology is responsible for unemployment? In my opinion, I disagree with this motion. This is because technology has brought more new job types and some hand skills jobs can never be replaced. Firstly, the digital world we live in today has embraced so much more opportunities for new job roles and functions. For example, data scientists, graphic designers and software engineers are to name but a few. The education of technical subjects such as STEM has brought more new young blood to the technology industry, enabling more growth in the new industry. As a result, the progression of technology has indeed created new jobs instead of simply wiping out traditional jobs, causing unemployment. Secondly, some jobs can never be replaced by technology and robots themselves. For instance, in the medical field, the demand for nurses and doctors is ever-increasing provided that healthcare workers can provide care and empathy that machines are incapable of doing. Hence, for large and developed cities like Hong Kong or Singapore, which are more advanced in technological progress, the unemployment rate is still low. In conclusion, technology is bringing society more new job opportunities and some jobs such as those in the health care field cannot be replaced by technology. It is not agreed that technology is the main reason for unemployment.