To improve the job prospects,some people want the secondry schools to spend more time teaching communication and business skills and spend less time teaching history.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, as competition to get a job becomes more fierce for university graduates, there are discussions on whether subjects like history should give way to more practical ones like business in secondary schools. As far as I am concerned, I utterly advocate not making such a change. Admittedly, giving pupils more training on business skills can make them more business -orientated and this may be appealing to potential employers. However, I do doubt adolescents' ability to understand complex business strategies at such an age. To me, learning basic accounting principles is already the best we can achieve, and we already have accounting in some of the classes. Secondary schools should cover a wider variety of subjects and let students, most of whom do not have an idea of what their interests and strengths are, to better assess the aforementioned and make a decision on what they should learn in university and subsequently dig into it deeper vertically. On the other hand, there is a laundry list of advantages to learning subjects like history. History is the summary of the experience of mankind and the ancestors of people in a country. From it we can learn from the mistakes made by people in the past. For example, we know that corruption and income inequality leads to the suppression of people and might finally give rise to a revolution. In writing history essays, students are also required to develop their ability to organize their ideas in a logical flow and persuasive manner. To me, undoubtedly these skills will be useful to students' careers in future. In conclusion, in light of the role of secondary schools and the numerous advantages learning history can bring about to pupils, I do not agree history lessons should be replaced by business subjects in secondary schools.