Many sports players advertise sport-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

With the popularity of sports celebrities, sports goods companies are now inclined to promote their products through them. Although this trend has many advantages in terms of tremendous increase in the sale of such products and a good source of income for sports players, its disadvantages such as promotion of low quality products and high price can not be ignored at all. To begin with, since the main benefit of sports product manufacturers is to increase their sales, the market value of sports players is used by such companies for this. To cite an example, a painstaking survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March, 2015 clearly revealed that there was a 35% increase in the sales observed by sports goods suppliers because their products were endorsed by renowned sports icons. To explain, these sports celebrities have many followers who often purchase their promoted products and this certainly gives financial benefits to the related companies. In addition, sports players get a huge amount from these companies which they may use in many ways such as developing athletic academies or for their own. On the other side, such a phenomenon can be harmful for people because such companies can supply low quality products in the name of famous sports players. According to a report, 13 major companies had been closed due to low standards of their products and all these companies were promoted by big sports personalities. In many cases, people who purchase such products may observe problems as well as accidents. Moreover, when companies hire big sports stars to promote their products, they demand a huge amount of money which ultimately hikes the price of such goods. To conclude, due to increased influence of sports icons in society, sports products manufacturers are rapidly interested in appointing sports players for the promotion of their products. It is unequivocal that such an approach is advantageous for companies and players but not beneficial for customers as discussed above.