Society is becoming obsessed with material goods like fast cars, designer clothes and flashy jewellery. We have stopped caring about the important things and that is why divorce rates are so high and family bonds are not as strong anymore; our valve system is disintegrating. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Nowadays people are willing to be at the top of their lives by the rising influence of the society to maintain standards in nearby surroundings which encourages them to purchase expensive material goods. On the other hand, there are several disputes between the people in/of the families resulting in divorce of couples and weakening the family bonds which is disintegrating the value system. I lean towards the agreement by emphasizing on the key points with supportive examples. A few decades ago, people were engraved to the moral values which they had received from their parents and were also indulged in cultural activities. The children were concerned to look after their parents. With the advent of time, lifestyle of the people changed which led towards the change in behaviour of the people. In addition, the long working hours have increased the stress levels and tensions between life-partners. For instance, one of my married seniors had undergone the physiological medication, his wife opted for an overseas job in pursuit of good salary. However, the loneliness tore their feelings apart and the long-distance relationship stood against their lifetime. Secondly, most of the young generations have a dream to work in a foreign country to earn hefty amount of money. Consequently, acquired lifestyle demands to draw the same amount leaving them to fall into a trap of purchasing the expensive material goods/luxuries such as fast cars, designer clothes and flashy jewellery which divert them from the main goal of life. For example, one of my friends who pursued his Masters in Mechatronics field has now started to gamble in the stock markets. In conclusion, I stand firm with the statement that our value system has become disintegrated as people have begun to detach from their families or life-partners in pursuit of earning money which is harmful in the growing society and for upcoming generations.