Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children’s time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give our own opinion.

People have different views about whether the school should allocate more time for extra-curricular activities like physical education in their curriculum or should only focus on academic syllabus. Even though, students at school have a lot of subjects to study, I strongly believe that physical training should be a part of every curriculum because it keeps children not only healthy, but also zealous. On the one hand, the prime reason to add physical education in every school curriculum is to keep the children physically fit and healthy. The students who actively participate in physical activities like sports and other games will get plenty of exercise to burn out extra calories from their body. As a result, the risk of obesity and other lifestyle disorders like diabetes and heart diseases will be reduced. For instance, these days most of the children are interested to spend their leisure time playing video games rather than outdoor games, so, physical hours in school are mandatory to keep such student energetic and healthy. Apart from that physical education also play a role to identify talented children in various sports activities. For instance, if a student performs extraordinary in any sport items, the physical educator can give more guidance and training to the particular student and make him more successful sports person in the future. Thus, it should be mandatory to include physical activities in schools to promote health as well as well being of each student. On the other hand, some people argue that the only goal of school is to give education, not other activities. They think that, in this competitive world, education is the only way that help their children not only in acquiring knowledge, but also to get a better career in the future. For example, if a child spent maximum time for learning subjects in school, can score well in exams. Consequently, get a better opportunity to continue education in any reputed university, which help them to have a better future. In conclusion, after discussing the both views in details, I strongly believe that, even if, learning subjects are pivotal in the educational process, all schools should also promote extra curricular activities to keep the student physically healthy, energetic and enthusiastic.