As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers? Give reasons for your answer and give any relevant example or experience you have to support your answer.

People primarily work for monetary remunerations and psychological job satisfaction. Admittedly, remuneration like salary and fringe benefits package is crucial, but job satisfaction also cannot be ignored, In this essay we will try to explore it from different angles. First thing first, we ought to understand, job satisfaction is a feeling. Thus, it is delicate in nature and different people must feel heterogeneously towards it. Some people consider the sense of achievement after successfully mastering a challenging task as job satisfaction, while others may define it as the sense of trust and reliance by his direct supervisor. For example, in my previous job, a subordinate of mine tried to resign after two months. Her primary reason was that the trivial instructions given to her made her feel unhappy. Since then, I empowered her with more authority and she only needed to report to me on critical issues. The result was overwhelmingly positive and she stayed in that capacity for eight years, although her salary was not higher than the market average. On the other hand, another part of job satisfaction weighted heavily by employees is respect, and sometimes we can define it as the degree of preferential treatment given to those employees in daily operations. To take the example aforementioned again, whenever there were difficult situations, I put our heads down with the woman above mentioned to search for possible solutions. I guess she must have felt that I respected her abilities very much in the process. In conclusion, job satisfaction is quite essential as it can keep staff turnover low, but it varies from person to person. Given the same level of monetary remuneration, the importance of job satisfaction is paramount. To some employees, it can even offset a little bit of an unfavourable payscale.