More and more people today are moving away from where their friends and family live. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people are increasingly becoming inclined to reside somewhere away from where their blood relatives and friends live. Although some minor drawbacks might be associated with this trend, I believe these can be easily outweighed by the possible advantages of this approach. To begin with, the most crucial advantage of living away from family and friends can be the strong character that can arise from this situation. Following this trend, one should become emotionally and economically independent, making them responsible for their lives. Such a sense of responsibility and independence can eventually lead to a sense of autonomy which is said to be one of the most important elements for human flourishment. Take students who study in boarding schools as examples. Some research shows that since this group of pupils experiences independent life from an early age, they can become more reliable characters in their future life. Admittedly, living far away from your original community can sometimes lead to homesickness and a sense of loss of social capital. However, such drawbacks can easily be compensated for by constructing new social and emotional bonds with the members of your new community, which might seem a difficult task, initially. Given that, not only can one compensate for their social and emotional deficiencies by engaging in the new society but also they can broaden their circle of friends and expand their social and working relationships. In conclusion, while living away from family and friends might cause some social and emotional troubles, these drawbacks can pail into insignificance compared to the benefits associated with such tra end, including personal development and expanding social and business relationships.