Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweighs the advantages?

It is said that technology attributes to developments in several industries including the food industry. There is no shortage of debate on whether chemical ingredients do more good than harm or not. The argument that chemicals which are used in products eaten by humans cause more health damage than the advantages is both agreed upon and disagreed with by many. The two sides of the statement will be analysed and discussed thoroughly in the following essay, before drawing a reasoned conclusion. It is a common belief that chemical additives allow us to keep foods longer. Take my case for example. I usually buy groceries once a week since I'm too busy to go to a grocery store every day. However, I can consume some products, such as instant noodles, 5 days after I bought them, because chemicals prevent them from spoiling. Owing to the chemicals, I don't waste food, hence chemical additives are beneficial for both me and the environment. Consequently, we can make the best use of the limited resources if food products contain artificial nutrition. Nevertheless, it is obvious that chemical substances cause damage to people's health. For instance, the research done by Cambridge University revealed that 60% of those who consumed more than 100g of chemical ingredients per month became obese in the United Kingdom. Furthermore, it was proved that one chemical substance which is commonly used by fast- food chains causes cancer a long time after it is consumed. Those problems are irrecoverable, and obviously a number of people all over the world suffer from some kind of physical condition issue which is attributed to food additives. In conclusion, chemical ingredients are always unhealthy and they cause substantial health problems globally. To summarize, chemicals have advantages and disadvantages, both of which are supported by compelling facts. However, after a thorough analysis of this argument, it is clear that chemicals contained in food are harmful to human beings. It is therefore predicted that the adverse effects of additives in food will be always greater than the positive effects, and because of this, I maintain that the food industry has to replace them with healthy ingredients and that people should be aware of possible issues.