Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, advertisement is all around us, from leaflets that we occasionally receive walking across streets to advertisements that pop up on websites. For some may it may be a way to be introduced to something new, while others may think it is misleading. To begin with, advertisements can be argued to be beneficial for companies as they allow startups to increase their exposure in the public’s eye. Some argue that through publicity we can better understand the benefits of a product and make the correct decision. For example, when a cosmetic brand advertises its latest foundation, it would emphasise the strength of its product. Such as the ability to cover up dark circles, by stating the characteristics of their product, it allows consumers to choose carefully and make the smartest choice. In addition, advertisements borden our horizons, through adverts we could develop our understanding on current trends, as well as discovering new goods and services available in the market. On the other hand, some argued that advertisements are misleading, and is the causality for irrational choices. For instance, companies may exaggerate the benefits of specific products. One example would be dietary products. Firms may emphasise the regular intake of the dietary product within a week allows consumers to lose more than 2 kg. However, in reality it is impossible and unhealthy to experience a sudden drop in weight within in a short period of time. Nevertheless, the side effects of dietary products are usually avoided on the advertisement. As a result, consumers may be misled to believe that there are no side effects, which poses a risk on the health. In conclusion, although advertisements may be beneficial in terms of introducing us to the latest items, misleading advertisements may lead to the waste of money or worse, health issues. Hence, the drawbacks of advertisements overtake its strength.