Medical procedures for cosmetic purposes should not be allowed. Do you agree or disagree

The practice of some surgical procedures for aesthetic purposes should not be permitted. This essay agrees with this view, it will set out two examples of procedures performed for aesthetic reasons and poses threat to the lives of the people involved. In most hospitals now, there is increased patronage for Liposuction, as a lot of obese people want to reduce the amount of fats in their body to a less obese ones. Liposuction is surgical removal of fats from the body system including the abdomen, thigh and other parts of the body. This procedure exposes them dangers during the procedure, after it and later in life. Most people are allergic to anaesthetic agents hence resulting in difficulty recovering from the effect of anaesthesia used during liposuction. Others often develop complications after the surgery such as kidney failure and liver failure which now become a great health challenge for them in future and finally death. The second procedure I have chosen to support my view is breast enlargement. This is the process of increasing the sizes of breast making it fuller and more bigger in shape. Aside the exorbitant cost of performing this surgery, it is also dangerous to health of the individual by predisposing the breast to mastitis, breast cancer and other diseases associated with mammary gland. It may also damage the breast secretary cells, thereby affection secretion of milk and reducing breastfeeding practices in women of child bearing age. In conclusion, there is a clear evidence to support the arguement that medical procedures for aesthetic reasons is harmful to health and should not be permitted in our society.