In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, the number of criminals is rising due to economic recession and bad management in public orders or even worse, corrupted officers. This is why we need cutting-edge technology, and cameras, to record the truth. Although some may currently feel unease about their freedom being taken away, they would be eventually desperate for the evidence when they ran into trouble. The camera will help investigate any crimes because it always records the evidence without any bias. For example, security cameras on the street will always record those who are passing without order and will not choose to record only the person they like. In the end, the truth will be shown discrimination-free. Moreover, setting up cameras helps reduce the crime rate. If they do something bad, the recorder will be there to tell the story. So cameras can prevent crimes too. Those bad people are likely to lose an incentive after seeing cameras all over the cities. On the other hand, some may dislike the fact that cameras invade their freedom and complain about it. However, when the crimes happened, they took back their words and felt grateful for the records. In conclusion, even if cameras trim some of the freedom, it is worth the price to pay. You may lose some of your mental health but it is better than losing both sanity and wealth in crime if it is not a life you are losing. In my opinion, it is the best trade-off we could ever ask for.