These days, popular leisure activities have been affected by trends and fashion than individuals’ interests and preference. I believe that people still prefer to do their favorite activities in free time.

First, the hobby preference is associated with our characteristic traits, age and even mood. when we are child, we are interested in playing with our friends in the summer holidays. Most children do not pay attention to trends and fashion while, by getting age, our interests may change. In other words, adults select their hobbies based on their personality. For example, the majority of introvert people prefer to have lazy and tranquil leisure activities like spending time on the beach in order to relaxed and read their favorite books. On the other hand, most extrovert people are willing to spend their spare time on exciting activities or extreme sports in order to burn energy and become thrilled. Moreover, during lifetime, humans experience different good and bad moods. and their psychological status and mood impact the type of hobbies which they select. For instance, in rainy and gloomy days, some people feel sad and depressed. Therefore, they turn to do some indoor activities like watching their favorite movie or cooking. Therefore, in my opinion, people leisure activities are mostly influenced by mood, age, and personality rather that fashion or trends. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that there are individuals who pay attention to trends a fashion and they try to follow them in various aspects of their life, especially most of teenagers focus on trends considerably so that they might select their leisure activities according to trends. For instance, some trend videos of famous celebrities are popular among their social circles. Some of them follow them in order to be acceptable and stand out among their friends. They ignore their interests and preference. For example, if adventures activities like kiting become trend, it is likely that some teenagers do that in spite of that they have fear of heights. However, the number of adults who prefer to popular hobbies rather than their favorite leisure activities. this is because on the internet and social media. For example, they intend to attract more and more follower in their page or to show off among their friends by post some pictures and videos of their hobbies on the social media like Facebook or Instagram. To sum up, in my point of view, the trends have changed the hobby preference of people, but it is not as influential as their interests.