Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that government can get involve Change the form of the verb involved show examples in sorting out housing shortage in cities which has led to several social problems. While I agree to this sentiment in general, it is important to understand the limits of state intervention on this issue. I will discuss my reasons in this essay. To begin with, there are several factors behind housing problems in many countries. Foremost, the increase in population in some cities have a direct impact on this situation. Consequently, the limited resources available in cities such as land, water and food availability does not matched with the increase in demand. Therefore, it is the duty of the state to find solutions to this, in order to minimize social consequences. A good example, is health officials can take steps to encourage couples to have family plans that do not become a burden to the city, they live in. On the other hand, the government can implement efficient housing schemes in their countries with the help of international agencies. However, there are other parties that can solve these issues effectively. For instance, media professionals have a bigger role to play in this kind of a situation. Actually, they can assist public health officials to educate people on family planning by promoting several programmes in this regard. Moreover, certain charity and non government agencies can provide additional funds to authorities to build appropriate housing complexes in populated cities. In addition, academic professionals can help the state to planning of such housing projects in more environmental friendly way. In conclusion, it is clear that limitations of government agencies can be easily overcome by third parties such as media and academic communities to overcome housing shortages in a country. This question, reminds us of citizen's responsibilities towards society as well.