Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local foods is environmentally and economically beneficial. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Due to the development of technology, we live in an era of globalization. A large amount of foodstuff we eat every day is actually imported that is shipped from far away. However, people still consist that eating local food is environmentally and economically beneficial. I would agree with this statement, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, local food tastes better. Because that foodstuff is locally produced and is only shipped to the local markets; thus, it is still fresh and nutritious. On the other hand, that imported foodstuff is transported from miles away and is horned in warehouses for days. According to some statistical figures, vegetables will lose 50% of their nutrition within 24-48 hours after they are harvested. Therefore, locally produced food is healthier and more recognizable. Second, locally produced food is more environmentally friendly. As we know, different transportations, like trains and cars, are required to carry imported food; hence, the carbon emissions will be increased during the transporting and packaging processes. As a result, the growth in carbon emissions can contribute to global warming. On the contrary, if we could consume more locally produced food, then the environment would be better protected. Third, The local infrastructure can be improved. We can invest the money we earn from consuming local food to promote the local infrastructure, such as farms and some basic equipment. Such a case is actually a win-win situation, the locals can use more advanced equipment, and we can eat more delicious food. In conclusion, eating locally produced food has numerous advantages.