Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Good physical as well as mental condition always have a direct link with our diet. The common notion, 'we are what we eat and drink' is gaining importance in the contemporary epoch as people are tempted to follow unhealthy eating patterns thereby endangering their well being. Owing to the ill effects of sweetners on health, there is an argument supporting that ought to increase the cost of sugary products in order to discourage its consumption by public. I certainly agree with the aforementioned as health as health is the prime important factor. According to the trends in economy, the demand for a product decreases with inclination of its price. Hence, money is top priority of people, they tend to think twice before buying an expensive good with high sugar content eventually switch their minds to opt for cheaper as well as healthier alternatives. To illustrate this, the sales of Coca cola plummeted to almost 30% as soon as its price went up by 5%. Furthermore, increased cost of sugary commodities will have negative impact on purchasing power of individuals. Being juveniles and teenagers as the major customers of sweetened food and drinks, making it expensive ultimately reduces its consumption as the money in hands of children are limited somehow forcing them to restrict the intake of these unheathier healthier diet options. For instance, if price of Cadbury has been increased upto a considerable level its buying frequency will be reduced automatically. To sum up, taking health and customer's rights into consideration, I reckon that increasing the cost of goods with artificial sweetners is beneficial in reducing its consumption.