Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Educationalists state that art-based subjects should be mandatory in secondary school curricula, because they can increase children's academic performance. As far as I am concerned, art subjects are essential for the artistic development of pupils and I consider that they should be compulsory in the secondary school. Moreover, this way students develop their originality and creativity while doing enjoyable activities such as drama and crafts. To begin with, schools should be aware that art highly contributes to the academic performance of students. Additionally, they acquire lots of abilities which will help them improve their overall academic performance. For instance, craft classes are helpful for the development of their analytical thinking, because pupils need to use their creativity while doing a project. Alternatively, drama classes give them an insight into the theatrical world. Besides, they enhance their social abilities and strengthen their relationships with their colleagues. For example, a high school in France implemented arts subjects in secondary school and noticed a significant improvement in students ' final grades. On the other hand, if arts subjects are implemented in secondary school, students will have the chance to experience all the options provided from a young age. Moreover, a study shows that it stimulates children to express themselves more than any other subject does. That's because in art there are no rules and everyone is appreciated and valued for their efforts. In addition, pupils are highly likely to become passionate about a particular course. In conclusion, I firmly believe that implementing arts-based subjects in secondary school will be vital for children's development as human beings and will lead to better grades.