Some people say protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility, others believe individuals should be responsible for it (opinion)

Advancements in technology have led to the exploitation of natural resources, trees in the Amazon rainforest are on the edge of extinction, and the recent exponential increase in atmospheric carbon storage. Some may argue that it's the state's role to protect the earth. Yet, I believe the fundamental responsibility should be taken by us. To begin with, deforestation is caused by individuals such as businessmen hence, they should take responsibility. For instance, soy plantation and cattle ranching are the dominant reasons for deforestation, considering investors cut down trees for agriculture purposes, carbon is then released into the atmosphere leading to a rise in temperature. Furthermore, research has found that cattle ranching has caused 80% of Co2 emissions in the tropical rainforest. This outlines how individuals should take the responsibility to protect the environment as they are the reason for destruction. On the other hand, some argue that it is the government's duty to protect the environment as the state has the most power. Such as the plastic bag levy in Taiwan, where citizens need to pay for plastic bags. These schemes are effective as they could reduce the demand for plastic significantly. Nevertheless, the government has the duty to educate the general public about environmental protection, since some citizens may not fully understand the urgency of global warming. All in all, after weighing both factors, I reckon individuals have the obligation to protect the environment as it is not solely the state itself causing the damage to the ecosystem. Thus, protecting the environment should not be the state's duty but the individuals who contributed to the destruction.